top of page

Fikri Afif Daud

Fikri Afif Daud is a star in illustrating. Portraits, architecture, fashion and more. Beautiful bright colors, black and white and pencil sketches. Be amazed by his magnicficent work and come to know more about him in this personal message from Fikri Afif. Article By Fikri Afif

Three years ago, when I opened an Instagram account, I didn’t even know what to do with it. So I started posting selfies, food, and daily activities. The feelings to do these kind of things dissipate each year since then. When college days started, I accidentally met a guy who is so passionate about art. Showing off his Instagram to me had left myself in complete amazement. From that moment, I followed other artists and I was so inspired to create something like they do. I still remember that one evening after the exam week ended, I started to draw an illustration of a model called Eva Herzigova in my sketchbook. Well I have to admit it doesn’t look that good, but I’m upset that it was stolen. However, it didn’t stop me from doing what I have started.

The highlight of this journey is when a supermodel, Coco Rocha (one of the name on my favourite list) liked my post and it actually took my profile to another level. It grows from just an ordinary Instagram profile to an art page as my skills getting better at producing beautiful pieces. ‘Practice makes perfect’ really works after all! My illustration of red-haired Rihanna in Vogue is the benchmark to whether I like what I’m doing or not. Surprisingly, it really caught my heart where in that post, I wrote ‘’I got this, so bring it on!'’

Hard work paid off when I was invited to join an exhibition in Kuala Lumpur, to showcase my artworks. It was so overwhelming when people actually noticed and appreciated what I have been doing. After a year, I collaborated with a friend to bring some of the arts into business where we sell journals with my illustrations on the cover and we branded it Jounalife. We are more than fortunate that it was a hit!

From a simple sketch to an A2 size Karlie Kloss in VS Lingerie illustration, I managed to build a career and it actually helps me to interact with more people (like what I’m currently doing by writing this article). It's absolutely alright if you are struggling to get your artworks to be published because you never knew if luck hits you tomorrow. Although I have no idea where all these are heading to, I’m pretty sure something big is coming my way. Fingers crossed. xFA


This might interest you aswell

ARCHIVE

inspire, aspire, design, think, share, create -- a community for youngsters with a passion for design

bottom of page